Motivation for painting

You need inspiration, ideas? Not a WIP yet but still in a concept stage? Come here!
sea.man
Chest of Colors
Chest of Colors

Motivation for painting

Post by sea.man »

Having recently a discussion about motivation for painting, made me think what motivates me to paint and why sometimes I have a few weeks long period without a brush in a hand... So here they are:
  • gaming - it helps me a lot when I know that a mini will be used in a battle and not only because painted minis play better, but also because it makes more fun a has much more atmosphere. I started my Escher Necromunda tale with a campaign start at a local club. The minis that performed best were the first in a queue to be painted :mrgreen:
    That is also the reason why I started playing more skirmish games. You just need 15-20 miniatures and you're ready to play. The feeling of having achieved something comes much faster :D
    Painting armies is more difficult and takes more. I think that having a defined army list with 1500 - 2250 pts helps to stay on the track.
  • real miniature contests - you can't play with all the miniatures, some will get a display base ;) For a contest you try to give your best and there is a deadline which also motivates (at least in my case). After every competition I come back from, I am full with painting energy and I want to grab my brushes as soon as possible. So there contests are a real kick to paint more.
  • buying vs painting - buying a miniature is much easier then painting it. Last year I tried not to buy a single miniature. After 7 months I have failed. But today I can't remember what miniatures I wanted to buy and I am still alive, so they weren't needed that much ;) It also helped me to paint more miniatures than to buy! This is a big achievement in my case.